I Wish I Was a Baller

Professional basketball player Jason Collins (no relation to Joan other than, now, he also has a huge gay following) announced this week that he is gay.

jason-collins-washington-wizards

I think Jason Collins is incredible. I think Jason Collins is amazing. I think Jason Collins is taking a huge step toward moving away from a hetero-normative world that tells little boys and girls only certain things in life are possible for them if they think and act a certain way.

I also think Jason Collins stole my thunder. After nearly 20 years of practicing being openly gay, I was about to try out for the NBA and WHAM! He steals my idea. If this was a movie I wouldn’t have a starring role. I’d be Tall Guy in Crowd in the credits. I wouldn’t even make it to IMDB. Thanks, Jason Collins, for ruining my dream.

Tagged , , ,

One thought on “I Wish I Was a Baller

Leave a Reply

